Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Calling All Potential NTAC Members

The NIEM Technical Architecture Committee (NTAC) is looking for NIEM-savvy techies to join the committee!

What does the NTAC do?

Responsibilities include:

  • Defining and governing the technical and structural architecture associated with NIEM development and implementation.
  • Developing, implementing, and maintaining the technical specifications for the NIEM community.

Who is on the NTAC?

NIEM has two committees, the NTAC and the NIEM Business Architecture Committee (NBAC). While the NBAC membership is representative of all participating domains, the NTAC is representative of a smaller population which consists of approximately 12-20 voting members.

These members represent technical experts across the community and may include representation from key standards-developing bodies to ensure interoperability and coordinated development.

The NTAC is led by two co-chairs, one representing federal government, the other representing state, local, and tribal government.

What is the estimated time commitment?

All committee members are expected to dedicate a minimum of 12 hours per month, as needed, for projects and working groups.

This commitment includes:

  • Attendance on monthly conference calls.
  • Attendance at two semi-annual, face-to-face meetings.
  • Acceptance of action items and task assignments; nominees must be willing to expend additional efforts outside of the monthly NTAC meetings to complete assignments by established due dates.

In order to be nominated, each candidate’s employer must agree to the time and resource commitments required for committee membership. The agreement will be provided as part of the nomination package.

What qualifications are required?

Participation within the NTAC requires:

  • A clear understanding of the technical implications for information exchange. Specifically, an understanding of the NIEM technical architecture including, but not limited to:
  1. NIEM Naming and Design Rules,
  2. NIEM Model Package Description Specification, and
  3. Unified Modeling Language (UML) Profile for NIEM.
  • Broad experience across the information sharing landscape to articulate a vision for improving information sharing on a nationwide scale.
  • An ability to work collaboratively with external partners to drive the program’s strategic goals.

What do I do if I’m interested in becoming a member?

Interested parties may either nominate another person, or apply themselves. The Nomination period is open, and the deadline has been extended to Friday, May 24, 2013.

How do I apply?

To apply, please submit the information below to

  • Resume
  • Cover letter summarizing the candidate’s qualifications
  • Supervisor acknowledgement of committee commitment

When will a decision be made?

Nominations will be screened by the NTAC co-chairs, with formal decisions to be made no later than June 14, 2013. The screening process may involve requests for additional information and telephone or in-person interviews.


Please email the NIEM Program Management Office at