Best of NIEM 2016: Call for Nominations

Best of NIEM 2016: Call for Nominations

The Best of NIEM awards recognize teams or individuals for going above and beyond in collaborating, demonstrating measurable results, and furthering an efficient and effective government in their use of NIEM.

It is open to teams or individuals representing federal, state, local, tribal, and private sector organizations, whether domestic or international.

The deadline for nominations for the 2016 Best of NIEM has been extended! Nominations are being accepted through Feb. 3, 2017.

Guidelines and Nominations


This award is given to NIEM practitioners in the public and private sector who implement innovative, innovative and impactful solutions. Nominees must show work in information exchange projects using NIEM that directly support state, local, tribal, federal, private sector and/or international initiatives. Senior executives and political appointees are ineligible. Nominations must demonstrate accomplishments based on the impacts within the preceding 12 months.


These awards will be given to organizations or teams for their dedication and commitment to advancing and substantially improving the way NIEM is used for business. Recognition will be given for recent advancements that have impacted the way organizations conduct business on a cross-boundary* basis, and for achievements in efficiency through reuse of information exchanges.

Accomplishments should demonstrate:

  • Involvement of people and ideas from two or more organizations collaborating to solve a common information exchange problem.
  • Measurable improvement in performance, linked to mission objectives, through the successful implementation of NIEM.
  • Reuse of a NIEM exchange through cross-boundary information exchange* initiatives.
  • Conformation to NIEM as detailed in the NIEM Naming and Design Rules and Model Package Description Specification.
  • Submission and Evaluation Process

Nominations should submitted to the Program Management Office (PMO) electronically during the nomination period, which for the 2016 Best of NIEM runs from Nov. 1, 2016 to Feb. 3, 2017. Those making submissions must complete a nomination form, including a narrative description of the achievement or innovation and a group or individual nominee’s biography, and email it to The PMO evaluates submissions against the criteria above and makes award recommendations to the Executive Steering Committee (ESC).

*A cross-boundary information exchange is one that crosses an organizational or agency boundary, including information exchange with international, state, local, tribal, industry, and nongovernmental organization partners.

Past Best of NIEM Winners

To see who has won Best of NIEM in the past, visit the success stories page.

Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 12:30 to Friday, February 3, 2017 - 12:30